Twelve Animals of Hsing-I

The twelve animals of Hsing-I are the sparrow, hawk, tortoise, phoenix, monkey, cock, swallow, snake, eagle, bear, tiger, horse, and dragon. Their spiritual characteristics, along with the five elements (metal, water, wood, fire, and earth) comprise the Hsing-I system. It is an internal system and is therefore most concerned with the cultivation of chi. When chi is held in the lower abdomen, or tan t’ien, the body will be harmonious and stable. When chi erupts from the tan t’ien, power is produced to work the force of the will. The power is held within until it is used and then regenerated. Every movement contains the theory of yin and yang, or “true not true.” Every movement must be both creative and destructive and combine the “long and short.”

Internal Kung Fu